Advanced Clinical Sleep Health for Technologists

Available to all qualified health care professionals, ASTEP Advanced Clinical Sleep Health for Technologists consists of a series of 12 online modules that address the four main domains of the CCSH blueprint:

  • Sleep Fundamentals
  • Clinical Evaluation and Management
  • Communication and Education
  • Program Administration

transparent star logo

As a STAR Designated Program, the ASTEP Advanced Clinical Sleep Health for Technologists consists of a combination of case scenarios and evidence-based clinical practice examples that prepare learners to become eligible to take the CCSH certification exam.

Module Topics:

  • Normal Sleep Architecture
  • Pathophysiology, Epidemiology, and Clinical Presentation of Abnormal Sleep
  • Clinical Presentation of Sleep Disorders
  • Medical History
  • Impact of Comorbid Conditions on Sleep
  • Performance Improvement and Quality
  • Sleep Questionnaires and Surveys
  • Diagnostic Testing and Indications for Sleep Disorders
  • Evaluation of Sleep Treatment and Therapies
  • Patient and Family Education Including Sleep Hygiene
  • Building a Collaborative Sleep Program
  • Sleep Disorders as a Public Health Issue

Upon completion of the program, participants will be awarded a total of 12 Continuing Education Credits (CECs) and should be able to do the following:

  • Utilize sleep fundamentals in clinical practice;
  • Implement clinical evaluation and management in patient care;
  • Communicate with patients and their families by educating them on clinical topics; and
  • Identify the knowledge and skills necessary to take on a leadership role in administering sleep programs.

Eligibility Requirements

ASTEP Advanced Clinical Sleep Health for Technologists is designed for those working directly with sleep medicine patients who are looking to expand their knowledge in patient care management. Those who are eligible to take the program include:

  • Physicians (MD, DO)
  • Doctors of Philosophy in health, counseling, science (PhD)
  • Registered & Neurodiagnostic Technologists (RPSGT, REEGT, CLTM)
  • Respiratory Therapists (RRT, CRT)
  • Nurses & Physician Assistants (NP, RN, LPN, MSN, LVN, PA)
  • Dental Hygienists & Dentists (DDS)
  • Health Educators (CHES)
  • Pharmacists (PharmD)
  • Physical Therapists (PT)

The BRPT offers three eligibility pathways for the CCSH examination. Each pathway requires CCSH recertification every five years by either accumulating 50 approved CEC’s or by retaking the exam. For more information on the different pathways, review the candidate handbook and eligibility requirements with the BRPT.

CCSH Pathway 1

Clinical Experience

For candidates with at least 1,000 hours of experience in clinical sleep health AND a bachelor’s degree or above.

CCSH Pathway 2

Health Care Credential

For candidates with an approved health care credential or license AND an associate’s degree or above.

CCSH Pathway 3

RPSGT Credential Holders

For candidates who hold an active RPSGT credential who have recertified at least once, who have completed a CCSH STAR Designated Education Program within the past three years. 

Program Access

The program is available to be purchased at the cost of $199. Individuals will have open access to the modules for three years from the date of purchase to freely review and reference in preparation for the CCSH certification exam.